The Aquamarine House

So the daily prompt  is “ask for an article, an adjective and a noun”. I asked my daughter – she answered “The Aquamarine House”. Interesting. So my post is about my home apparently. Oh our house is not actually aquamarine on the outside or anything like that… our living room and kitchen are a nice turquoise shade though. This house. This home. Our first home…not the first place we lived, but the first place my kids and I ever felt was really ours.

My amazing mother and aunt put their heads and bank accounts (and retirement funds) together and they saved me and my special offspring. After their father and I divorced, I was struggling to find my way in the working world again after years of being a stay at home mom to a special needs kid (and let’s be honest, I was still raising myself, too). The kids and I moved four times in one year. The last time, my family saw their chance to change things for us – the house next door to theirs was for sale. My mother is now not only my mom, she is also my next door neighbor and my landlord. My gratitude can’t be shown with words…so I show it with trash taken out…or flowers watered. A quick run to the store or making something for family dinner.

This house. This house of color and noise and love. Of good smells in the kitchen and garden and bad smells in the litter boxes… This house of animals and teenagers and really loud Dave Matthews Band music… This house. My house. ❤

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/04/daily-prompt-text-speak/

2 thoughts on “The Aquamarine House

  1. […] The Aquamarine House | Wrapped up in Wonder Woman’s lasoo of truth! […]

  2. […] The Aquamarine House | Wrapped up in Wonder Woman’s lasoo of truth! […]

Leave a Reply

